Fri 22 May 2009
Are You Seeing Ads On This Blog?
Posted by RichSlick under Uncategorized
[16] Comments
A few people have commented that they are seeing ads on my blog but I don’t run ads so I’m curious how/why this is happening. A reader e-mailed me the following screen shot from his computer.

Clearly there is some strange ad which appears to be some sort of flash overlay. I’m wondering if my site has been hacked. Any ideas?
May 22nd, 2009 at 8:49 am
I saw it in Firefox, but it disappeared forever (even on page reloads) after I closed it the first time.
May 22nd, 2009 at 10:09 am
yes- big ad on the right side, it is distractful
May 22nd, 2009 at 10:49 am
I see it too. i think your site has been hacked.
May 22nd, 2009 at 10:50 am
ok i clicked submit the previous comment and it left.
May 22nd, 2009 at 11:16 am
It could also be spyware / adware on the persons computer.
May 22nd, 2009 at 11:29 am
BTW I deleted all my cookies and restarted by browser and received no ads. If it is some sort of hack it appears to be pretty selective.
Also noticed you changed the new reader message to state this blog is for everyone. I guess I can start reading the blog now.
May 22nd, 2009 at 12:56 pm
I think it must be spyware on people’s computers because I’ve never seen the ads and I log on from at least 4 different computers.
Then again, I use firefox with ad block plus and rarely see ads.
May 22nd, 2009 at 8:44 pm
I see the ad too. I’m pretty good about keeping my system clean and don’t think I have spyware.
May 23rd, 2009 at 1:45 am
I visited, and saw the ad. I refreshed, and it disappeared.
May 23rd, 2009 at 1:47 am
I cleared my cookies and the ad still didn’t show up again.
Strange.
May 25th, 2009 at 5:37 am
I don’t see ads, but everything I visit your blog on my browser, it doesn’t fully open until I increase the font; yours is the only one that does that to me, and I use Firefox. Weird.
May 26th, 2009 at 6:12 pm
Could it be the same word press problem that these other bloggers had?
May 26th, 2009 at 8:03 pm
I see the ad but I don’t think it’s spyware. All the links go to slimp.net/members/getrichslick.com.html
July 11th, 2009 at 2:39 pm
So was this ever resolved? I just saw the same ad on a friend’s site.
July 11th, 2009 at 3:16 pm
I ran into this myself. I found that the hack added phantom wordpress users that you can see with a SQL select. Also the hack code for me was in “wp-includes/js/tw-sack.js” – though I think I heard of it being in other javascript files when others have it.
If you haven’t resolved it, let me know, I can help.
July 11th, 2009 at 3:45 pm
I only have ever had one or two people complain about ads. I’ve checked the “ads” from multiple computers and multiple internet accounts and I’ve never seen the ad.
When I go to a public place I usually check my website and I’ve never seen the ads. I don’t know what to make of it other than it has to be in combination with spamware/spyware or perhaps my hosting provider fixed the code.