Thu 20 Dec 2007
Blocking Range of IP Addresses, Sorry Chicago
Posted by RichSlick under Evil Profits
[4] Comments
The spam has gotten so bad on my blog that I’m now forced to start blocking a huge range of addresses. What is irritating is that spam never actually makes it to the point where people read it (or spammers benefit) but I do have a great deal to clean up.
I did some research and much of my spam is coming from Chicago via a company called FDC Servers.net. Here is the WHOIS record:
OrgName: FDC Servers.net, LLC OrgID: Address: 141 West Jackson Blvd, Suite 1135 City: Chicago StateProv: IL PostalCode: 60604 Country: US ReferralServer: rwhois:// NetRange: 67.159.0.0 - 67.159.63.255 CIDR: 67.159.0.0/18 NetName: FDCSERVERS NetHandle: NET-67-159-0-0-1 Parent: NET-67-0-0-0-0 NetType: Direct Allocation NameServer: NS3.FDCSERVERS.NET NameServer: NS4.FDCSERVERS.NET Comment: RegDate: 2004-10-12 Updated: 2006-12-27 OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE438-ARIN OrgAbuseName: ABUSE department OrgAbusePhone: +1-312-913-9304 OrgAbuseEmail: *****@fdcservers.net OrgNOCHandle: NOC1402-ARIN OrgNOCName: Network Operations Center OrgNOCPhone: +1-312-913-9304 OrgNOCEmail: *******@fdcservers.net OrgTechHandle: OrgTechName: Kral, Petr OrgTechPhone: +1-630-729-0228 OrgTechEmail: *****@fdcservers.net
If you’re in Chicago and can’t reach this blog then I’m sorry but I waste too much time cleaning up your spam Chicago.
In case your curious how to block spammers to your blog, there is a file called .htaccess which resides in the web directory of your site. Editing this file with the following lines will block specific IP addresses:
order allow,deny
deny from 67.59.0.0 (this will block the entire 67.59.x.x range)
allow from all
That’s pretty much it. This will block everything coming in from those IPs and in my case, spam.
November 21st, 2008 at 11:56 pm
FDCServer.net hosts a ton of different anonymizing proxy services which are run through it; I imagine that’s what was used in your case.
On a forum I administrate I’ve taken to blocking all FDCServers.net related IP ranges which come up, as they’re invariably used for trolling on our forum.
These are the ranges I’ve found so far used by anonymizing proxies run through FDCServers and which I have blocked:
67.159.0-63.*
66.90.64-127.*
74.63.64-127.*
February 4th, 2009 at 12:57 am
I like your layout. Have your web guy hit me up.
February 7th, 2009 at 11:20 am
I have been hit numerous times by these IPs:
67.159.45.10
Originating from
FDCSERVERS.NET, Illinois, Woodstock
It seems to be scraping my page for content, but no spamming as of yet.
Same with this IP:
66.90.118.101
who identifies itself as:
Mozilla/5.0+(compatible;+WebDataCentreBot/1.0;++)
I have tried to find out if this company is deliberatly hosting these bots, or if they are innocently being used for it, thats why I ended on your page. Dont know if there is a tendency yet, though, but thanks for your information, it will be usefull.
August 23rd, 2009 at 8:02 pm
Block these IP address ranges too.
208.53.128.0 /18